UConn Health Logo Health

Institutional Review Board Members

IRB members are appointed by the Director of the Human Subjects Protection Program and are selected for their experience and expertise, as well as for their diverse backgrounds. Panel 01 generally meets on the first Monday of the month, Panel 02 generally meets on the the third Monday of the month and Panel 03 generally meets on the fourth Monday of the month. The CICATS panel generally meets the 4th Thursday of the month, as needed, and reviews only new CICATS research (i.e., the panel does not review studies previously approved by panel 1, 2 or 3 that now utilize CICATS resources).

Meeting dates and submission deadlines may be adjusted due to holidays therefore investigators should always refer to the published schedules. Note that the submission deadlines only apply to studies that require full board review (either initially or at the time of continuation). Studies that qualify for expedited review or exempt status are reviewed on an on-going cycle as they are received.

Each member who is assigned as a primary review is provided with an electronic reviewer sheet within IRIS. The help buttons associated to the form addresses all the points the IRB should consider as related to the criteria for approval. The forms provided by the PI address the special concerns of involving vulnerable populations in research and the IRB must consider those forms.

Members may find the following documents helpful:

IRB Panel 01 Membership:

  • Karen Beyard, Ph.D., Professor and Director Ed.D. Program, Central CT State University
  • Kai Chen, M.D., Ph.D., Assistant Professorof Medicine / Cardiology
  • Pamela Colwell, B.S., Regulatory Specialist+
  • Alan Curto, J.D., Partner, Halloran & Sage LLP*
  • Judi Kulko, M.Sci., Executive Administrator, Clinical and Translational Research, Chair
  • Kourosh Parham, M.D., Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Surgery
  • David Pendrys, D.D.S., Ph.D., Associate Professor, Behavioral Sciences and Community Health
  • Mitchell Sauerhoff, Ph.D., DABT., Volunteers at UConn Health in Medical Toxicology /Emergency Medicine and School of Pharmacy
  • Meryem Tuncel, M.D., Associate Professor, Hypertension & Clinical Pharmacology
  • Catherine Wilcox, M.Div., Pastoral Services, UConn Health
  • Andrew Winokur, M.D., Ph.D.*, Professor, Psychiatry

*Jane Comerford, J.D., M.P.H., Alternate
+Patricia Gneiting, M.A. Alternate

IRB Panel  02 Membership:

  • Timothy Everett, J.D., M.A., Clinical Professor of Law, UConn School of Law, (Prisoner Advocate)
  • Martin Freilich, D.D.S, Professor, Department of Reconstructive Sciences
  • Patricia Gneiting, M.A., Regulatory Specialist+
  • Upendra Hegde, M.D., Assistant Professor, Hematology/Oncology, UConn Health, Chair
  • Ronald Kadden, Ph.D., M.A., Professor Psychiatry (retired)
  • Agnes Koczon-Jaremko, MD, Director of Research & Clinical Trials, Neuromuscular Center, Hospital for Special Care
  • Janice Loomis, M.A., Administrator, IRB William W. Backus Hospital
  • Anna Lisa Lucido, Ph.D., Senior Scientific Writer,  The Jackson Laboratory
  • Randeep Mandhadi, B.B.B.S., Assistant Professor of Medicine
  • Edmund Mikolwosky, JD, Community Member
  • Eugene Orientale, M.D., Professor, Family Medicine
  • Heather Roseman, A.P.R.N., Medical Nursing

*Pamela Colwell, B.S., Alternate
IRB Panel  03 Membership:

  • Linda Choquette, MSHC, CCRP, Sr. Manager Clinical Research,  JAX
  • Terese Donovan, M.S., R.N., Clinical Nurse Education Specialist
  • Julian Ford, Ph.D., Professor Psychiatry, Chair
  • Patricia Gneiting, M.A., Regulatory Specialist+
  • William Kleinman, J.D., Attorney Generals Office*
  • Stephen Lahey, MD, Professor of Surgery
  • Elizabeth Laska, R.N., Poison Information Specialist, Traumatology and Emergency Medicine, Vice Chair
  • Dayne Laskey, Pharm.D., Assistant Professor Pharmacy Practice, University of St. Joseph School of Pharmacy
  • Marla D. Mooney, M.P.H., Conard High, Community Member
  • Warren Osterndorf, MA, Assistant Professor of Communications, Eastern CT State University
  • Deborah Redford-Badwal, Ph.D., D.D.S., Associate Professor, Craniofacial Sciences/Pediatric Dentistry, UConn Health
  • M. Melinda Sanders, M.D., Dept. Chair, Pathology and Lab Medicine, UConn Health
  • Stephen Schensul, Ph.D., Professor of Community Medicine & Healthcare
  • John Vento, M.D., Assistant Professor, Diagnostic Imaging and Therapeutics, (retired)
  • Jeffrey Wasser, M.D., Assistant Professor, Neag Comprehensive Cancer Center

*Jane Comerford J.D., M.P.H, Alternate
+Pamela Colwell, B.S., Alternate

CICATS IRB Panel Membership:

  • Jyoti Chhabra, Ph.D., Senior Scientist and Project Manager, Research Program, Hartford Hospital
  • Jane Comerford, J.D., retired from Attorney General’s Office
  • Francis DiMario, Jr. M.D., Division of Pediatric Neurology, Connecticut Children’s Medical Center
  • Jayesh Kamath, M.D., Ph.D., Associate Professor, Psychiatry
  • Julian Ford, Ph.D., Professor, Psychiatry, UConn Health, Chair
  • Joan Levine, MPH, Research Compliance, UConn Storrs
  • Kim Radda, R.N., M.A., Director of Research Administration, Institute for Community Research
  • Catherine Wilcox, M.Div., Pastoral Services, UConn Health