UConn Health Logo Health

Distinguished Investigator Seminar Series

Speaker Nomination Form

To suggest speakers, fill out the Speaker Nomination Form (Word) and submit it to Stephanie Holden at sholden@uchc.edu.

The UConn Health Distinguished Investigator Seminar Series was established in the spring of 2007. The series is sponsored by the Health Center Research Advisory Council (HCRAC), and includes up to two seminars per year.

The goal of these seminars is to invite exceptional scientists whose research is cross-disciplinary, and thus bring together UConn Health researchers who might not normally interact scientifically. Topics should ideally be of interest to clinicians and basic researchers.

We would like to invite faculty from multiple departments to collaborate in identifying names of potential speakers. Along with a brief description of the research, sponsoring faculty will be asked to state why it would be of broad interest to the UConn Health community. Please keep in mind that the speaker’s research should encompass at least two research disciplines, and that the speaker should have a track record for giving quality talks. The speaker will be meeting with various faculty, students and post-docs throughout the day, so it will be important that they be personable and enthusiastic about spending the day with us. Also, the term “distinguished” does not preclude younger investigators, as long as they are doing cutting edge research and are excellent speakers.

Listening to a Lecture

Please fill out the Speaker Nomination Form (Word) to suggest speakers and submit it to Stephanie Holden at sholden@uchc.edu.

Upcoming Distinguished Investigator Speakers

There are no scheduled speakers at this time.

Past Speakers

Date Speakers Faculty Sponsors
November 17, 2014 Dr. Judith Campisi, Professor, Buck Institute for Research on Aging, and Senior Scientist, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory Dr. Chris Heinen
Dr. George Kuchel
April 10, 2013 Dr. Lawrence Steinman, George A. Zimmerman Professor of Neurology and Neurological Sciences and Pediatrics, Beckman Center for Molecular Medicine, Stanford University Dr. Stephen Crocker
Dr. Robert Clark
May 22, 2007 Dr. George Kunos, Scientific Director, National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism, National Institutes of Health Dr. Eric Levine
Dr. Timothy Hla
October 2-3, 2007 Dr. David Spector, Director of Research, Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory Dr. Sandra Weller
Dr. Gordon Carmichael
June 3-4, 2008 Dr. Robert Darnell, Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, Heilbrunn Cancer Professor and Senior Physician Dr. Brenton Graveley
Dr. Gordon Carmichael
September 21-22, 2008 Dr. Stuart Lipton, Professor, Burnham, Salk, and Scripps Research Institutes, and the University of California, San Diego; Scientific Director, Burnham Center for Neuroscience, Aging, and Stem Cell Research; Senior Vice President, Burnham Institute for Medical Research Dr. Sandra Hewett
Dr. Marc Lalande
April 23-24, 2009 Dr. Fred Gage, Professor, Laboratory of Genetics, The Salk Institute for Biological Studies Dr. James Hewett
Dr. Ren-He Xu
March 23-24, 2010 Dr. Wendell Lim, Professor, Department of Cellular and Molecular Pharmacology, University of California, San Francisco Dr. Bruce Mayer
Dr. Leslie Loew
October 26-28, 2011 Dr. John C. Morris, Harvey A. Dorismae Hacker Friedman Distinguished Professor of Neurology, Professor of Pathology and Immunology, Washington University School of Medicine Dr. Jeff Hoch
Dr. George Kuchel
Dr. Leslie Wolfson